colors

Lorenz Boegli – a printer beyond compare

What part does creativity play in the craft of printing?

It can be found in the subtle interplay of imagination and skill, of high technology and aesthetics – combined with a passion for both the manual and the digital aspects of the trade. On top of this comes a talent for absorbing oneself in the work of a designer, photographer or painter to such an extent that the template is transformed into a work of art during the printing stage.

Lorenz Boegli has acquired a set of printing skills based on excellent powers of discrimination and a perfect mastery of raster, typography and colour. He practises a form of alchemy that breathes life into a photograph, heightens the expressive power of an image, imbues a map with inspiration and lends a design clarity.

His silkscreen printing skills are unique. They endow printing with a third dimension in the form of an intangible quality that transposes technology into pure emotion.

Customised printing effects

Thanks to its craft aspect, silkscreen printing possesses special qualities that by far transcend any other printing process and offer the broadest possible palette of enhancement effects.

Lorenz Boegli is a magician with materials. He plays with metallic and iridescent reflections and with transparency and opacity. He juggles lustrous and matt finishes and combines them into half-tones in order to bring out the special qualities of each and every image.

In the luxury segment – watches, jewellery and tourism – he creates effects that have never before been seen for a new and rare object or special series that calls for an unusual visual impact in print as well.

The art of printing or the printing of art?

You can’t put a price on a work of art. And you can’t set a limit on the refinement and virtuosity of a print!

Lorenz Boegli treats every art edition like a one-off. Acclaimed photographers commission him to transfer their prints onto carefully chosen papers (from 18g/m2 to 2500 g/m2) and to transfer their images to glass, metal or plastic. Skill and experience increase with the complexity of the task. Visual artists and galleries from all over the world entrust Lorenz Boegli to produce exquisite serigraphs, unique objects and limited editions.

Industrial excellence

Industry presents a range of challenges that call, among other things, for the precise reproduction of a particular colour tone regardless of support material. This colour tone needs to be both stable over the long term and transferrable to other print techniques.

Lorenz Boegli possesses extensive experience of industrial products and brings his knowledge to bear wherever precise reproduction is at stake – advising paper producers and paint manufacturers but also in the packaging industry and mechanical engineering and electronics sectors.

In all these areas he conducts customised research that goes far beyond his own trade of printer. Upon request he will also produce colour charts or technical proofs.

filosofi: from printing to special edition

Above all else, a love of printing is a love of fine paper!

Since 1997 Lorenz Boegli has been developing a series of paper products that cater to the infinite possibilities of silk-screen printing. What a self-contained world the tireless research-printer inhabits!

There are the correspondence cards, for example, consisting of various designer papers he produced in homage to European paper manufacturers. Or the Schuhgelenkpappe series, made of material normally used for insulating shoe soles. And then there are the carnets nature, which have won a prize for their fine printing qualities.

In collaboration with the Basel textile studio Matrix, filosofi also offers the Karo series, a shimmering, transparent gift paper of enormous subtlety.

m1
m2
m3
m4
m5
m6
m7
m8
m9
m10
m11
¨

Farben

Lorenz Boegli – ein Drucker ausserhalb der Norm

Wo hat beim Druckhandwerk die Kreation ihren Platz?

Man findet sie im subtilen Zusammenspiel von freiem Geist und Können, von Technik und Aesthetik, verbunden mit einer Leidenschaft sowohl fürs Handwerkliche wie auch fürs Digitale; hinzu kommt das Talent, sich so ins Werk eines Designers, Fotografen oder Malers zu vertiefen, dass dessen Vorlage auf der Druck-Etappe eine Verwandlung zum Kunstwerk erfährt.

Lorenz Boegli hat sich eine Drucktechnik angeeignet, die auf exzellentem Unterscheidungsvermögen und auf der perfekten Beherrschung von Raster, Typografie und Farbe beruht. Eine Art Alchemie, die einer Fotografie Leben einhaucht, einem Bild zur Darstellung verhilft, einer Karte Inspiration und einem Design Deutlichkeit verleiht.

Seine Siebdruckkunst ist einzigartig. In ihr bekommt der Druck eine dritte Dimension in Form jenes kleinen Nichts oder jenes grossen Alles, das aus Technik pure Emotion entstehen lässt.

Effekte für den Druck nach Mass

Der Siebdruck erhält durch den handwerklichen Aspekt eine spezielle Qualität, welche weit über jedes andere Druckverfahren hinausgeht und die breiteste Palette von Effekten der Veredelung bietet.

Lorenz Boegli kultiviert die Magie des Materials. Er spielt mit metallischen und irisierenden Reflexen, mit Transparenz und Deckkraft, er stellt dem Glanz das Matte entgegen und kombiniert diese untereinander zu Halbtönen, um so der Sensibilität jedes Bildes gerecht zu werden.

Im Luxusbereich von Uhren, Schmuck und Tourismus kreiert er noch nie gesehene Effekte für ein neues, rares Objekt oder eine besondere Serie, die auch nach einem besonderen visuellen Ergebnis im Druck verlangt.

Druckkunst oder Kunst drucken?

Ein Kunstwerk kennt keinen Preis. Genau so gibt es auch keine Limite der Feinheit und Virtuosität eines Druckes!

Lorenz Boegli behandelt jede Kunstedition, als wäre sie ein Einzelstück. Bedeutende Fotografen lassen bei ihm ihre Drucke auf fein abgestimmte Papiere übertragen (von 18g/m2 bis 2500g/m2) oder transferieren ihre Bilder auf Glas, Metall oder Kunststoff. Können und Erfahrung wachsen mit der Schwierigkeit der Aufgabe. Bildende Künstler und Galerien aus der ganzen Welt beauftragen Lorenz Boegli mit der Herstellung anspruchsvoller Serigrafien, einzigartiger Objekte oder limitierter Editionen.

Exzellenz in der Industrie

Die Industrie kennt anspruchsvolle Aufgaben und verlangt beispielsweise die getreue Nachbildung eines bestimmten Farbtones, unabhängig vom Trägermaterial und haltbar über die Zeit, transformierbar auch in andere Drucktechniken.

Lorenz Boegli verfügt über grosse Erfahrung mit Industrieprodukten und stellt sein Wissen überall dort zur Verfügung, wo es auf genaue Wiedergabe ankommt. So zum Beispiel bei Papierherstellern und Farbfabrikanten, aber auch in der Tabakindustrie, im Maschinenbau oder in der Elektronikbranche.

In all diesen Sektoren betreibt er gezielte Recherchen, die weit über sein angestammtes Druckmetier hinausgehen. Auf Anfrage realisiert er Farbkarten oder technische Andrucke.

filosofi: Vom Druck zur Edition

Die Liebe zum Druck ist vor allem die Liebe zu schönem Papier!

Seit 1997 hat Lorenz Boegli eine Reihe von Papierprodukten entwickelt, die den unendlichen Möglichkeiten des Siebdrucks gerecht werden. Eine Welt für sich – das Universum des unermüdlich forschenden Druckers!

Das gibt es zum Beispiel die aus unterschiedlichen Kreativpapieren zusammengesetzten Korrespondenzkarten, die er als Hommage an die europäischen Papierhersteller geschaffen hat. Oder die Serie „Schuhgelenkpappe“, die aus Material besteht, das normalerweise für die Isolierung von Schuhsohlen benutzt wird. Weiter die „carnets nature“, die für ihre feinen Druckdarstellungen eine Auszeichnung erhalten haben.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Basler Textilatelier Matrix bietet filosofi die Serie „Karo“ an, ein schimmerndes, transparentes Geschenkpapier von besonderer Subtilität.

m1
m2
m3
m4
m5
m6
m7
m8
m9
m10
m11
¨